UPSC Exam details | Preparation, Syllabus, Eligibility - The EduHub


Home Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Sunday, May 20, 2018

UPSC Exam details | Preparation, Syllabus, Eligibility

UPSC Exam details | Requirements, Syllabus, Eligibility  

What is UPSC exam
UPSC Exam details

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC; Hindi: संघ लोक सेवा आयोग) is India's premier central recruiting agency. It is responsible for appointments to and examinations for All India services and group A & group B of Central services.While Department of Personnel and Training is the central personnel agency in India.

The agency's charter is granted by Part XIV of the Constitution of India, titled as Services Under the Union and the States. The commission is mandated by the Constitution for appointments to the services of the Union and All India Services. It is also required to be consulted by the Government in matters relating to the appointment, transfer, promotion and disciplinary matters. The commission reports directly to the President and can advise the Government through him. Although, such advice is not binding on the Government. Being a constitutional authority, UPSC is amongst the few institutions which function with both autonomy and freedom, along with the country’s higher judiciary and lately the Election Commission.

The commission is headquartered at Dholpur House, in New Delhi and functions through its own secretariat.Vinay Mittal is its current Chairman of UPSC.

Established on 1 October 1926 as Public Service Commission, it was later reconstituted as Federal Public Service Commission by the Government of India Act, 1935; only to be renamed as today's Union Public Service Commission after the independence.

Website :

Civil Services examination comprises two successive stages:
  1. Civil Services (Prelims) Examinations which is of objective type for the selection of candidates for Main Examination
  2. Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written & Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various posts.

Subjects for the Prelims & Mains Examination. [ UPSC Syllabus 2018 ]


The Examination shall comprise two compulsory papers of 200 marks each

  1. Both the question papers will be of the objective type (Multiple choice questions)
  2. The question papers will be set both in Hindi and English. However, questions relating to English language Comprehensions Skills of Class X level will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the question paper

The written examination will consist of the following papers:
Qualifying papers:

Paper A: (One of the Indian Language should be selected by the candidate from the Languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution) [300 MARKS]
Paper B: English [300 MARKS]
The papers on Indian Languages and English (Paper A & Paper B) will be equivalent standard and will be of qualifying nature. Marks Obtained in these papers will not be included for ranking.

UPSC Syllabus

The syllabus for the Preliminary Exams for Paper-I:

  • Current events of national and international importance.
  • History of India and Indian National Movement.
  • Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
  • Indian Polity and Governance - Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
  • Economic and Social Development - Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector initiatives, etc.
  • General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change
  • General Science

The syllabus for the Preliminary Exams for Paper-II:
  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills;
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision-making and problemsolving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. - Class X level)

Papers to be counted for merit
Paper I: Essay [250 Marks]

Paper II:General Studies - I [250 Marks]
Subjects : Indian Heritage and Culture, History, and Geography of the World and Society]

Paper III:General Studies - II [250 Marks]
[ Subjects : Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations]

Paper IV:General Studies - III [250 Marks]
[ Subjects : Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management]

Paper V:General Studies - IV [250 Marks]
[ Subjects : Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude]

Paper VI: Optional Subject - I  [250 Marks]
[  Paper 1 -250 Marks]

Paper VII: Optional Subject - II  [250 Marks]
[  Paper 2 -250 Marks]

Personality Test : 275 Marks

Grand Total : 2025 Marks

List of the Optional Subjects

The List of Optional Subjects is as follows:


(ii) Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science

(iii) Anthropology

(iv) Botany

(v) Chemistry

(vi) Civil Engineering

(vii) Commerce and Accountancy

(viii) Economics

(ix) Electrical Engineering

(x) Geography

(xi) Geology

(xii) History

(xiii) Law

(xiv) Management

(xv) Mathematics

(xvi) Mechanical Engineering

(xvii) Medical Science

(xviii) Philosophy

(xix) Physics

(xx) Political Science and International Relations

(xxi) Psychology

(xxii) Public Administration

(xxiii) Sociology

(xxiv) Statistics

(xxv) Zoology

Literature of any one of the languages such as Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, English.

You can Check : UPSC Syllabus 2018 here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad